As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is true that having a satisfactory job is an important element of the sense of well-being among all workers. There are many reasons behind this trend and I would argue that it is unrealistic and impractical to expect all employees to own satisfactory work. On the one hand, many factors contribute to this issue. To begin with, the development of the world prioritized salary and turned it to become increasingly crucial in employees’ daily lives. For example, they need it to sustain their lives, provide a better life for their family and prepare for emergency events arising from their daily routines. Moreover, personal value is also an important factor in job satisfaction, which can facilitate them to achieve personal value in their workplaces and become more confident, equipping them with the ability to do any work in a world full of competition. On the other hand, although a decent and pleasant job would make them feel comfortable, it is unrealistic to expect everyone to achieve job satisfaction. One reason is that the requirement/ standard for a satisfactory job differs among all individuals in spite of the similar incomes they earn. For instance, some people think that is sufficient to support their lives, but other people may hold an opposite stance. Furthermore, finding a suitable and interesting job for most applicants is demanding and challenging. Under such circumstances, a large number of employees engage in work which is inconsistent with their interests. In conclusion, a pleasant job plays a pivotal role in the whole life of every individual, but I do believe that it is by no means possible to enable all workers to work satisfactorily.