Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that when individuals consume food from their local farms, it will be beneficial to the environment and the economy of their country, instead of bringing it from the farms of other countries by different means of transportation. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this notion, and I will draw my personal opinion. At the outset, if the essential food in any country only relies on importing it from other countries, the likelihood of risks will increase, for example; the political decision of this country will be controlled by other countries, as; they provide it with food. In addition to that, when food products are transferred by cars over long distances, certain storage conditions must be taken into consideration, and if these requirements are not applied, all food products will be destroyed easily. Moreover, the risk of transferring infectious diseases because some kinds of food products may be contaminated with harmful microorganisms. In contrast, when people depend on their selves to produce national products, a lot of benefits will be accomplished, for instance; everybody always gets fresh food which is healthy, as; its components are not affected by storage conditions. Furthermore, when folks plant local farms to make their own products, many vacant jobs will be created, so; they can hire lots of employees. On top of that, if folks have an excessive amount of local products, they can export to foreigners. Consequently, the economic status of this country will be boosted. In conclusion, I believe that a lot of positive consequences will be achieved when individuals produce local products to feed themselves in place of getting their food from outside countries. Also, the authority has to support this project, and it should make campaigns and seminars to increase people's awareness about its importance.