Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

The question surrounding whether people should only consume food produced by local farmers has sparked heated debate. Proponents claim that the method is beneficial for both environment and the economy perspectives whereas others argue that there will not have enough supply to support the population in cities. In my viewpoint, the suggestion proposed is not practical for modern life. In the essay, I will elucidate in more detail and provide my personal opinions. First of all, some environmentalists advocate this solution in order to reduce the emission of carbon dioxide caused by long-range transportation, and ultimately to slow the adverse effects that global warming has brought. However, some significant points are overlooked; to begin with, the urban population has grown exponentially within the last few decades and framing lands are limited, meaning that many regions can only sustain by importation. Japan, for instance, relies on foreign imports for 40% of grains to maintain its daily consumption. On the other hand, locally framed eatables do not necessarily mean a low-cost guarantee, and will further impact citizen’s choices. It is evident that labours in developed areas are more costly. Moreover, in the countryside, farmers usually use gigantic machines or aeroplanes to boost their efficiency, whereas it is hard to implement in cities due to their restricted spaces. These all elevate the prices of grains and vegetables. Meanwhile, the masses will also face another headache: limited food and restaurant options, and will significantly influence citizens’ way of life. In conclusion, neither local framed supply feeds enough population nor lower economic expenses or environmental risks. In contrast, it only brings higher prices and fewer choices. Obviously, such methodology does not fit the reality and its demerits outweigh its merits.