Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

-Unlike in the past, people, irrespective of their gender, tend to splurge on beauty products. This essay shall discuss the reasons for this epidemic and what could be the feasible consequences of it. In the past few years, the use of cosmetic products has proliferated dramatically. One of the prominent reasons is that people are more inclined towards maintaining social status in society. To elaborate, with the advent of advertisements of beauty lines, youngsters have developed oniomania in them. People, nowadays, have started believing that beauty products have become an essential part to maintain their lifestyle. Many of the industries are following the same trend, such as aviation and hotel lines, hiring teams in these industries go by the looks of their employees and neglect their skills. To illustrate, the receptionist of a 5-star hotel is more likely to be hired, based on her looks rather than her accomplishments. Many of us are imitating our favorite celebrities on social media. Little do we know about the plastic surgeries they have undergone. For these reasons, natural beauty has lost its charm and makeup is the new fashion statement among youths. Further, beauty care, if used in abundance, can have negative effects on the human body as it has a lot of chemicals in it. These chemicals can have adverse effects on the skin. For instance, a recent survey has been conducted by "The Toronto Times", wherein it has been proven that due to excessive use of beauty products and surgeries, skin cancer has been detected among 4% of youngsters. To conclude, with the increase in advertisements for beauty products, youngsters have started compulsive shopping which has led to deterioration in their skin and health. Hence, it has important to encourage the limited usage of cosmetics among youths.