In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. what are the advantages and disadvanteges of such a solution?

Indeed, government should impose heavy taxes on private car owners in order to improve public transportation. There are numerous factors contributing towards it that solve traffic issues. Now adays every private car owners wants to travel by own transport creating a jigsaw puzzle all around. The congested roads with heavy traffic disturbs a person mental health. To begin with plenty of benefits, it would allow people to reach destinations with in less time than usual ultimately saving time as time is money. Moreover fuel prices are already cloud nine due to increasing inflation at high rates. Public transport will enable individuals to save money by less fuel consumption. Consequently, few cars on road means less number of accidents. Additionally public transport creates a large amount of revenue being an economical source of a country. More people will prefer public vehicles so more money can be generated. Recently Pakistan mass transit authority launched metro bus project.The government generated huge income that encouraged owners to promote such projects further. On the other hand, it grants numerous disadvantages.When govt will start imposing tax burden every private car owners will stop buying vehicles. This particular industry will get adversely affected. Moreover, various contagious diseases might spread if patient travel in public transport. Therefore it will turn out to be a great mess. However,public transport do consider every terminal according to passengers but every person do not gets benefited due to remote areas instead of stations. Last but not least public transport is not safe too. I do not agree to the notion that govt should impose heavy taxes on private transport.Though public transport should be provided to the non-affording community. On the other hand private cars should be encouraged simultaneously. Instead, restrict the number of cars to owners to avoid congested traffic.