People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

It is widely argued that sugar-sweetened beverages are the most popular drink in the world and they have a negative impact on various aspects of human health. The essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this trend before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle the mentioned problem. The are two primary reasons why people prioritise selecting sugar-based drinks nowadays. One reason is, in terms of traditional tastes, scientists have defined four basic types including bitter, spicy, salty, and sweet. In particular, sweet taste is the most easily accessible taste in terms of stimulating personal appetite in each individual, from young to old. Therefore, to put it simply, sweet taste is always the number one priority of individuals when selecting any food. Another reason is that the growth of advertising also contributed to a significant increase in the consumption of sugar-based beverages. Beverage companies like Coca-Cola, and Pepsi have spent millions of dollars to serve advertising campaigns, helping hundreds of millions of public around the world to access their sugary bottled products. However, these advertisements, mostly talking about the benefits of their products, instead of their drawbacks with unlimited use, are forever a mystery. To combat this worrying concern, the following feasible steps should be taken. First and foremost, the ads should be true and warn individuals if they use these beverages too much. In addition, Advertising must give the merits and demerits of advertised products. Thus, individuals can exactly evaluate the advantages of these drinks, thereby adjusting their consumption based on standards. Furthermore, governing bodies should promote healthy lifestyles in their communities. For example, the governments can encourage each citizen to live a green lifestyle, such as using pure juice from oranges, carrots, or apples, instead of sugary bottled ones or exercising in moderation, which could protect the locals from dangerous diseases, for instance, obesity or blood lipids. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative perception towards sugary drinks, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to change the oppositional perspective.