Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Hobbies and interests play crucial parts in our lives, which are considered by some people as trends and fashions changing with time passing by, instead of reflecting personal choices when available. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that many of them can be remained from one generation to another. On the one hand, some leisure activities grow in popularity as a passing fad adopted by people enjoying following suit. Children and teenagers, in particular, are attached to whatever activity is currently popular among their peers. For example, an interesting video game or TV show could attract tens of millions of followers playing or watching it overnight, which, however, are more like to lose out to other games or shows when players and viewers are fed up with them. Furthermore, people would give up some used-to-be popular activities while knowing that they are detrimental to their health. Smoking, for instance, was a habit for millions of men and women, which has become outdated as a hobby for it causes a great number of deadly illnesses. On the other hand, there are many hobbies and interests retaining their popularity from ancient times till today. Billions of people are interested in reading, which cannot only impart knowledge, but broaden our minds and horizons, thus remaining unchanged as a hobby for many of us. As a result, the young and old spend a great amount of time on reading. Especially nowadays, we are able to read on electronic gadgets embedded with tens of thousands of books in a palm-sized device, drawing an increasing number of people to read. Consequently, not only can it meet our needs for killing time, but reflect individual demands for pastimes. In conclusion, although not all hobbies and interests can keep fashionable all the time, some of them are favoured by us for many generations.