People hold the view that it is better to buy their home rather than rent it. Do you agree or disagree?

People nowadays would give buying their own house the preference over renting it as they think it is better. Personally, I partially disagree with this perception, as owning a home would out-cost in the long term compared to the other. There are several factors accounting for why people maintain the above idea. Cost, perhaps, is the most common justification and they think renting house is more expensive than owning it in overall. However, they should know that the house-owner would sign contract with renters for a limited time, that is the reason why people can switch their house flexibly after the contract expiring, especially when they want to experience a new accommodation environment. Besides, when legally owning a house, people can redecorate any parts of their house as their desires, such as the facade, roof, and door. Nevertheless, this cannot happen with those who rent their houses as most of contracts prohibiting them to do