Alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Alternative energy sources are considered the answer to our reliance on fossil fuels, as sources of alternative energy are low emitters of CO2 and are sustainable means of providing electrical power. Critics of green energy contented that current technologies are eighter too costly or impractical to replace our current energy. I partially agree with this opinion due to the reasons which be discussed in the following paragraphs. The advantages of green and renewable energy are obvious. There is no worry about dwindling supplies of expensive resources. Solar power will never run out. Once the initial costs of the equipment are paid off, the electricity is basically free. Furthermore, another major advantage of these sources of energy is that they have low emissions. For instance, wind turbines and hydroelectric power stations have no further air pollution or the risk of environmental contamination. However, this notion of a perfect world of free and non-polluting energy draws criticism. It is clear that solar power will not work at night or even in every country that has windy air or sunny days. More importantly, replacing our energy need from fuel resources with green energy, require constant research and development and also government cooperation. One last obstacle to the adaption of green energy is nuclear power. Many countries provide their amount of energy from nuclear power and consider it as a more practical solution than messing up with the wind and sun. In conclusion, there is little doubt that we will soon need to wean off fossil fuels and on to an alternative fuel source. I partially agree with the idea that the most expensive infrastructures for the implementation of renewable energy will be replaced our fossil fuels very soon.