There are serious concerns about the sale and production of genetically modified food, yet this is necessary if we are to meet the demands of an increasing world popultion. Do the benefits of GM foods outweight the negatives?

Nowadays, the arguments about genetically modified food have been raised. There is a group of people who claim that GM food can solve the worldwide starvation problems, while others believe that it has potential harnesses for humans who consume it. The pros and cons brought by genetically modified food have been widely debated in society. Noticeably, genetically modified food brings lots of upsides for the world. After being DNA modified, fruits, vegetables, and proteins could involve more nutrients, or even grow sweeter and bigger than the initial one. This technology solves the situation of starvation problems in poor countries, providing enough food and needed energy for people who suffering hunger. Scientists and farmers have made lots of efforts on GM food, and there is no research that highlights that genetically modified food could harm people's bodies. Although the benefits of GM food seem considerable, there are still some caveats of them. There are some independent cases showing that children might be allergic to GM food. Although there is no concrete research revealing the negatives of genetically modified food, there are some teams of doctors who doubt that ingesting GM food might cause the modified DNA in the food to affect the cells in the human body. People are afraid of these rumours and the potential harms so they try to request the food industry companies labelled GM food. Take Taiwan for an example, soybeans are the popular types of GM food there, and there are lots of soybean milk companies labelling that they do not use genetically modified beans as an ingredient, in order to convince customers to buy their products. Moreover, there are many ways can meet the demand for food caused by overpopulation. For instance, new agricultural technology and irrigation systems. We do not have to take the risk of GM food. In conclusion, I think the benefits brought by GM food do not surpass the negatives it brings. There are too many things people have not figured out with genetically modified technology. I believe that there is no need for us to use our bodies to take huge risks.