In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Certainly, the government makes economic growth the number one priority above all other concerns in many nations. In this essay, I will outline the benefits and drawbacks. There are, I feel, many advantages and perhaps the most obvious one is that it can provide numerous job opportunities to their residents. If the authorities’ focus on developing the economy, they invariably have more start-up companies and multinational companies, and this makes local people attain well-paid jobs more effectively and is potentially absolutely beneficial. For example, the government in China, introduces policies to encourage the economic development, creating thousands of positions to Chinese people, and this ultimately contributes to a better quality of life among their citizens. However, I believe there are some disadvantages. Firstly, it may well sacrifice natural resources to exchange an economic growth. Factories in the rural area of China, for instance, emits a huge amount of toxic emission. As such, the countryside is polluted and the ecosystem has become unbalanced, which means this arguably damages the environment and harms people ’s overall well-being. Secondly, it usually leads to a sense of isolation and loneliness since people only focus on work and have less time with their loved ones. When the nation prioritizes developing the economy, people are more likely to spend more time working, in turn typically resulting in less interacting with their family members and breaking down. What this does is make it extremely detrimental. In conclusion, there are clear positive and negative effects of focusing solely on economic growth as I mentioned above.