Today many people put their personal and private information online (address phone number and credit card number) to facilitate everyday activities such as banking shopping and socializing. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the economy and society advancing by leaps and bounds, the notion people adopt towards the internet has undergone a far-reaching transformation. Nowadays, there is no doubt that the internet plays a vital role in our daily life including bank shopping, socializing and so on. The related effects of this social phenomenon have been a highly prioritized topic. I believe its disadvantages might outweigh its advantages and the same part will be discussed in the following essay. The main factor that contributes to beneficial aspects is Internet can help to save time and money. To say it differently, we might communicate with others in a convenient manner, subsequently, information could be exchanged quicker than before. For instance, In China, affected by the pandemic, nearly all students had their classes online in 2020. Lots of them appreciated this transformation to help to reserve their time and energy. Despite these facts, I still claim that the effects of the internet are negative in general. Firstly, in online mode, it is harder for people to concentrate than usual. That is to say, their attention may be distracted by social media or computer games in their electronic devices. To exemplify it, in 2021, many students reflect that their learning is negatively affected by consistent online learning. According to data statistics, another evidence is that there is a tremendous decline in grades for most of them. Moreover, addiction towards the internet may encourage people to stay at home, reducing their face-to-face communication with other people. This may be harmful to their health and socializing ability, which could cause several diseases including diabetes, hypertension and depression. In conclusion, the internet is a good tool for our daily life, but its drawbacks can overtake its benefits. We should not be addicted to it.