With the increasing demand for energy such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Write an essay with no less than 250 words.

Nowadays the demand for energy has sky-rocketed and it now surpasses its supply. And so, because of this, people have started to search for oil and gas in remote and untouched places. The creation of jobs and economic upturn are the main advantages. Whereas, its negative effects on human and environmental health are the main disadvantages. The uncovering of a new supply of oil and gas will allow more job opportunities while also providing an economic boom. Digging up energy sources from the earth requires a lot of machine use, and because of this, there are more jobs for locals to apply for. Additionally, the organic material that is being dug up to be sold would create a shift in the global economy. A prime example of this is the Emirati states, which dig up tonnes of organic material to be sold globally leaving them to now be one of the richest countries worldwide whereas before this discovery they were one of the poorest. The main disadvantages are the effects these materials have on human and environmental health. The use of such materials leads to pollution which in turn causes issues like breathing problems, heart diseases and cancer to name a few. Similarly, when organic material pollutes the air the trees and water levels are affected. For example, due to the thinning of the ozone layer, the melting of the Northern and Southern ice caps causes the sea level to rise resulting in devastations like tsunamis. To conclude, in my opinion, the benefits more oil and gas brings to people such as more job opportunities and its economic boom, must be weighed against the drawbacks it causes to health the of humans and the environment.