Que: Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is to address it at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that environmental problems are massive and laborious for countries and people to handle individually and require global intervention to tackle them. I disagree with the statement that environmental issues can only be handled at an international level. This essay will first look at how the public awareness of environmental protection and internal government intervention through environmental laws, sanctions and penalties can reduce this imperative problem. Firstly, public awareness of environmental protection through media campaigns and school curricula can educate people about the diverse effects of polluting the environment. Many citizens are not aware of the impact of their individual actions on the environment. For example, the media campaign on global warming in America has had a behavioural impact on many people and has changed the way a lot of them put environmental protection at the forefront. Additionally, the government in each country can be more knowledgeable the preserving the environment through laws. By breaking the law, people should have paid the penalty in the form of a high pay fine. For example, an environmental law that banned gas flaring in Nigeria, has resulted in gas companies' multi-million dollar investment in gas processing thereby reducing gas pollution. In conclusion, the public awareness of environmental protection and the conscious effort of the government through fundamental laws will help to solve the environmental problems.Like the popular saying charity begins at home. Similarly, If each country tackle this issue locally, the aggregated result will be unprecedented.