Essay Question: Some people think that to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately-owned vehicles should be banned in city centres, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that in order to fix the issue of heavy traffic jams in cities, private cars must be restricted. In contrast, other people opine that this is impossible. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. To begin with, congestion has become an immense problem in the past decades because the population in urban areas is significantly increasing and infrastructure is not well projected. Hence, certain individuals suggest banning privately owned vehicles in city centres as they cause those blockages. With this prohibition, people will use more private transport such as buses, trains, metro etc. Moreover, the rate of pollution and noise from automobiles will rapidly diminish, which will affect humanity's health. On the other hand, the vast majority of people will not agree with this prohibition because it is not rational and it creates a lot of barriers for people with disabilities, families with kids, pensioners etc. Undoubtedly, having a private vehicle offers enormous comfort and opportunities and it is more relaxing than public transport. In addition, there are a number of other policies that can be taken to tackle this problem such as paid roads. For instance, a few huge cities like Almaty and Moscow added these roads a few years ago and it decreased traffic jams a little. To sum up, automobiles create a vast amount of congestion, however, I strongly believe that banning them in city centres is not the right solution. There should not be that kind of prohibition in modern democratic countries.