Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree, what other measures do you think might be effective

Traffic jams and pollution are growing concerns in societies throughout the world. The government and people should take them into consideration responsibly and seriously. It is suggested that if the price of petrol is increased these problems will be addressed and this method is the best one. However, I strongly believe that there are several more effective ways to control jams and pollution which will be outlined in this essay. The low price of petrol can be one of the motivations for using more vehicles which leads to traffic on roads and streets as well as that their gas emissions cause air pollution. In fact, when the price of fuel for private cars is not expensive, people are more likely to use their own cars. Conversely, with the increase in fuel price, they try to save their money, therefore they are less likely to use their private car. Consequently, the volume of existence of vehicles on streets will decrease and traffic and pollution will decline. On the other hand, higher petrol price affect families with low income and it makes a tough situation for them when they have to use their private cars. Although this method is effective, other methods such as improvement in infrastructures and raising people ’s awareness have a significant impact on decreasing jams and pollution. To be more specific, when high-quality public transport services are created for people ’s convenience, they are encouraged to use them instead of their private cars for their commuting. Moreover, the governments are responsible for improving infrastructures like constructing new bridges and wide roads in order to prevent congestion. Also, the invention of electric cars with sustainable fuels instead of fossil fuels is really helpful in decreasing air pollution. In addition, when people are aware of their role in environmental preservation, they try to protect the environment. For instance, some people use bicycles for their commuting to prevent problems caused by cars To conclude, although increasing price of petrol solves the problem of traffic and air pollution, alters methods are more helpful and even more fair.