People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In recent years, drinks containing high amount of sugar has become a broad issue for the general public. In spite of being noticeable, its drawbacks have not been realized by many consumers. I will discuss detailed causes and give some possible solutions for this phenomenon. There are several causes of this problem and people are interested in consuming fizzy drinks. First and foremost, its taste is able to work up consumer's appetite when combined with other dishes such as fast food. To be more specific, the main ingredient of these drinks is artificial sweetener which brings a high sense of satisfaction. In addition, their prices are affordable for a wide range of buyers. Take Pepsi as an example, their sugary drinks have been a top-selling product of all time. Just with 1 or 2 dollars, buyers can grab one bottle, whereas compared to fruit juice and tea, they have to pay more. There are some actions that could be taken to eradicate the problem described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be given is that the government should impose higher taxes on unhealthy beverages. By doing this, tax can curb the consumption of soft drinks, which lead to rising level of obesity and overweight. Besides, social media plays a vital role in propagating change in consumer's lifestyles. Thanks to articles about how to stay healthy, people, especially the young generation can raise their awareness of taking in less sugar-sweetened foods. For example, non-profit organizations have launched several zero-sugar campaigns to cut down the number of sugary beverages consumed by Vietnamese people on their daily diets. In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts outlined the reasons as well as the measures of this issue. The presented suggestions would be good steps to solve that problem. This is the topic for further consideration and discussion.