It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teacher be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some would argue that it is essential that children are taughts morals from an early age and punishment is the best way to do it. This essay totally agrees with that statement because they will be punished when they get older if they break the rules. However, parents and teacher should not beat their child and instead should deprive them of something they love. Young children must get used to punishment because they will be treated in the same way later in life by their teachers and the police. A lack of discipline at home often leads to delinquency later in life because the person has not been taight that there will be consequences to breaking the rules. Therefore, parents have a responsibility to punish their children to help them become responsible citizens in the future. For example, Singapore has one of the lowest crime rates globally, and this might have something to do with the fact that children see signs all over the country on a daily basis, reminding them of heavy punishments for even petty crimes, such as littering or chewing gum. However, punishment should never be violent because it teaches the child that the answer to a problem is to beat someone, resulting in a young person becoming prone to violence. A better punishment is to take away something the child treasures, such as their favourite toy or TV show or stopping them seeing their best friend. This allows the child time to think about what they did and learn from the exmperience without physical abuse. For instance, most violent offenders in British prisons experienced physical abuse as children, demostrating that the victim can often become the perpetrator. In conclusion, discipline should be instilled from a oung age because it will teach the child what is acceptable and unacceptable later in life; however, this should always be non-violent. The best way to punish a child is to deny them something they have a deep attachment to