Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views as to whether Science and Technology are more vital than history in today’s world. Although it is true that science and technology plays an important role, I cling to the view that history is one of the most crucial subjects. There are two reasons why people think that science and technology are more important than history. The first reason can be that science and technology advance our lives to some extent, which is an irrefutable fact. Nowadays, many scientific and technological competitions encourage students to invent ideas solving realistic problems in their daily lives and some of them are even applicable and reap a great profit. Another reason worth mentioning is that such fields also contribute to the development of country. Microsoft, for instance, not only helps US residents’ life easier thanks to its artificial intelligence but also increases the GDP of the US. However, in my view, history is equally important compared to science and technology. As a matter of fact, studying history in school helps the students understand the historical events of the country, which makes them realize the huge sacrifices of their ancients for the present life. Therefore, they can develop gratitude towards the older generations and their lives. In addition to that, the students are more conscious of studying and working hard for contributing to the country as their ancients did. In conclusion, while science and technology is a very overarching subject, I strongly believe that history can be considered as a fundamental subject in every school.