some people feel that good health is very important to every people, so medical service should not be run by profit making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages

Health care is always one of the most critical aspects of human’s life. Therefore, it is thought by a number of people that this provision should not be operated by private sector. Personally, I disagree with that opinion and think that the benefits of private health care do outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are certain disadvantages that privately-owned hospitals bring about regarding high treatment costs, and potential ethical and legal corruption. In terms of the former, since health care institutions owned privately have little dependence on the national budget, their incomes come mostly from patients ’ charges. This would increase the costs of medical treatment, and make health care less accessible for low-wage people or even middle class. Turning to the latter, private health care is somewhat profit-oriented so doctors may treat their patients unethically and even illegally to earn more money. Some of the common ways are requiring more medical tests than necessary, or prescribing expensive medicines instead of cheaper and quality substitutes. Despite the aforementioned downside, there are numerous positives that private health care brings for patients, medical staff and governments. First, since private medical establishments are not limited by national budget, there is more access to advanced treatment and modern technology. Patients also have greater choices in medical services. Second, doctors and other medical staff would be in more favourable working conditions with less pressure of too many patients and higher salaries as well as welfares. Last but not least, the health care services have the difficulty of rising demand but limited willingness to increase taxes to pay for it. The private sector could fill this gap by operating independently from the national budget, reducing public spending on health care and earning more taxes for governments from profit-making medical firms. In conclusion, private health care introduces both pros and cons. However, I am convinced that the advantages are more essential than the disadvantages regarding benefits for patients, medical employees and national authorities.