The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done solve this problem?

Consumer goods have become an indispensable part of modern life, but their production has resulted in significant damages to the environment. This essay discusses why I feel this is happening and explores the measures that can be taken. There are several reasons that I believe can be attributed to consumption placing undue stress on the environment. The primary reason is pollution generated during the production process of consumer goods, resulting in the production of large amounts of waste, such as wastewater, plastic materials and electronic waste. The production of electronic products, for example, requires massive production of chemicals, which are non-biodegradable and can lead to soil erosion. The second reason is the depletion of natural resources. For instance, the production of wooden furniture requires logging many trees, leading to deforestation and loss of vital habitats for wildlife. There are several measures can be taken to remedy this challenging issue. One effective approach is for companies to use sustainable materials in the production processes. For instance, Starbucks have already replaced plastic straw with the degradable and recycled materials made of paper. Furthermore, governments can introduce regulations which limit the amount of waste discharged during the procession. For example, some greenhouse tax can be imposed local industrials to reduce the amonut of gas emissions. By taking these steps, we can work towards an eco-friendly future. In conclusion, more consumption goods has caused environmental damage due to the pollution produced and over usage in natural resources. However, by using sustainable materials and regulating business to encourage more environmental friendly practices, this can be reduced to a manageable level.