In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Connections between equality and personal pursuit have been highly discussed in modern days. While some contend that people can reach their target more successfully in a unified society, I agree with the opposing side that individuals can achieve higher levels of goals only when they are allowed to exploit their advantages in a competitive environment. On one hand, an equal society allows all individuals to embrace opportunities which accelerate self-accomplishment. When sharing equivalent resources and responsibilities, the public is more able to explore its advantages in all fields and develop different experiences. For example, the Nordic countries advocate equality in all forms, such as social, economic or gender. Statistics have shown that more than 60% of Nordic people feel encouraged while chasing their dreams with the support of positive social communication, faithful economic system and welfare, as well as gender-equal and trusting social activities. On the other hand, I believe that a competing environment can boost one’s motivation and dedication to perform better. That is to say, under limited resources and high competition, those who are willing to work harder and be more persistent can accomplish more. For example, the US characterizes a strong focus on competition and individualism, contributing to an average higher standard of living. Also, some of my friends who worked in US startup companies have proved that the more effort they made, the more satisfied and successful they were. In conclusion, although reaching a higher level of purpose involves an equal and uniform social establishment, I personally reckon that it can be accomplished by a competitive social system.