Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places?

Although riding a bicycle is clearly a better way to protect the environment than using other types of vehicles, not many people around the world prefer this means of transport for various reasons. Obviously, one of the reasons why people do not cycle in some places, especially in the cities is that it is time-consuming. Instead of riding a long way, people tend to use other means of transport that take less time to reach their destination such as motorbikes and cars. Furthermore, those vehicles give convenience to users. For instance, people can drive their car to work despite bad weather without getting tired and it can prevent emissions from factories and transport while cycling is not a helpful means of transportation on a rainy or hot day. In conclusion, in spite of its important role in protecting the environment, I think it is really difficult for cycling to be more popular in many places all over the world.