People drink more and more sugar-based drinks. What is the reason why more and more people consume suger-based drinks? How to reduce the consumption of sugar-based drinks?

Nowadays, individuals consume more and more sugar-based beverages such as Coke, Pepsi or Sprite than those days in the past. In this,essay I will explain the reason why they choose to drink these liquid refreshments and also suggest some possible solutions to drop their consumption rate. First of all, sugar drinks are popular among consumers these days compared to the past because it is tasty and cheaper compared to healthy ones. For example, every week chain supermarkets have these beverages on their front shelves to catch customers' eyes with relatively low prices at $2 per litre. This way customers who walk past would like to try and 50% of them get at least one bottle home. When people try new drinking products, they tend to like them on the first try and keep buying them because they are always special. Furthermore, the most effective method to decrease the consumption of sugar-based drinks is to increase the cost of sugar products by taxing more on them so the price will be higher. If the price of them is as high as healthy products, customers will consider a healthier option. For instance, according to the survey, sugar drinks were taxed more in South Korea in 2017, thus their consumers prefer buying organic teas and smoothies. This strategy works in South Korea and other countries should try to reduce the consumption of unhealthy beverages. In conclusion, people drink sugar-based refreshments a lot more than in the past this is because they are affordable and on promotion all the time at the local stores and I think governments should increase their taxes to make the price as high as healthy drinks.