Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. In my opinion, both of the above opinions are partly correct. Nowadays, using traditional cultures as a way to attract tourists is right, using heritage as a tourist attraction to make money is to promote the image of VietNam culture to international friends and contributing to the country’s economic development. In addition, money collected from tourists will contribute to a fund of to repair and preserve long-standing and gradually disappearing cultural heritage. For example, tangible cultural heritage such as pagodas, ancient architectural will be repaired and maintained to avoid damage, while intangible cultural heritage as making pottery, singing will be preserved by artisans and localities without worrying about economics or income because the state will create full subsidies for local communities to support the preservation of heritage But this also has some negative effects. Some current cultural have been changed from the original to meet the curiosity of the audience. For example, traditional folk songs and dance performances are change to be more attractive to foreign tourists instead of retaining their original form and meaning. Furthermore, focusing and appreciating only profits earned will cause these traditional heritage to overshadow their value and lose true meaning. Beside, some heritage sites now arbitrarily increase entrance prices as well as publics services such as dinning and shopping, which also leaves bad thought for tourists, they will not want to come back, this mean that not only will the country’s economic resources be affected, but it will also leave a bad image in the eyes of international friends In conclusion, both of the above opinions have positive and negative aspects.