Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people believe that the best method to resolve growing traffic and pollution problems is raising the cost of petrol. I disagree with this opinion and consider that this solution is not quite effective, otherwise, it would bring many other problems for citizens. Nowadays, private vehicles are more and more dramatically common, it is accompanied by pollution problems. But the cost of petrol rises, which isn't a good method. Vietnam also applied this solution with automobile tax but the number of people driving by cars still rapidly increasing, perhaps using it with private vehicles would be the same. Moreover, this solution may raise many issues for people. One of them is increasing the financial burden for everyone, especially the poor or students. In addition, increasing the cost of petrol not only raises the price of commodities, but it also puts pressure on inflation, decreasing the competitiveness of goods manufactured in the country. Instead of raising petrol prices, the government can give many other methods. For instance, exploring alternative fuels that can replace gasoline, would not cause emissions. Furthermore, they also can find many ways to encourage people to use public transportation. Besides that, governments should prioritize adding more public bikes like Japanese, or Korean use, which would restrict private vehicles but also increase the state budget, and protect the environment. It is crucial that they invest in upgrading road systems and establishing urban rail and bus networks, rather than resorting to increasing petrol prices. All in all, I still think that increasing the cost of petrol isn't the best method as it can bring a lot of problems. Better measures should be taken by governments and individuals such as exploring new fuels, using public transportation, and upgrading road systems for solving these problems.