You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. Nowadays, students are placing much attention on the subjects related to their own future careers. However, there are some critics that universities should let their students study more diverse subjects. In my view, although studying more subjects makes students become more mature to some extent, I believe that it is crucial for them to merely focus on their qualifications. Regarding the students who desire to study diverse subjects besides their major subjects, it can be true that their resumes in the future may be more impressive so they would have more career options. For example, if a student is currently doing a law degree and wants to go into environmental law, adding environmental studies to his or her course can make a big difference as that one will have a much better understanding of the topic. However, this can consume more time as there will be more lectures and seminars, and also more assignments that study time is taken up and as a result, the students might feel stressed. On the other hand, I would argue that it is essential for university students to stay focused on the main subjects of their diploma. The first reason is students who have a good grasp of the core of their major subjects would have an enormous range of possibilities to obtain more favourable employment than those who are averagely good at multiple subjects. Apparently, employers tend to prefer fresh applicants who possess excellent qualifications in only a certain field, not a variety of fields. Furthermore, in the digital era, people need to be skillful in the major they choose to pursue. If the students study many subjects, it will distract them from their specialties. Additionally, along with the information explosion, people can easily mitigate their lack of knowledge after graduating from universities, and encouraging students to focus on some subjects can effectively build up a strong workforce which has the ability to foster the general prosperity of a nation. In conclusion, although some people argue that students should study more subjects, I have a notion that the teaching method of universities should side with specialization subjects to subsequently achieve quality certifications.