Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

A number of individuals think that every higher education student has the right to pursue whatever major they like while others believe that they should only be allowed to choose science and technology-oriented programs which will be more useful in the future. Although science and technology are consistently developing, my strong conviction is that anyone should study anything they enjoy the most. On the one hand, some people imagine science or technology-related majors are more worthy than any other subject. This is mostly due to the fact that these folks consider one’s future remuneration the most important element in deciding what to study. Moreover, these areas of study usually guarantee a bright future and high incomes as they are improving at a very fast pace. This growth would also lead to a more competitive but better job market. For example, many university graduates who are now working in big tech companies were recruited with above-average salaries once they graduated. Despite all the positives just explained, I certainly believe that anyone must be free to choose any major he or she wishes. On the other hand, having the freedom to go after one’s desired occupation merely depends on the subject they study in college. This is to say, persons who pursue their favourite subjects at university end up having a higher rate of job satisfaction as they are always ready to grow in their favourite field. Furthermore, higher chances of getting promoted are for these people because they are so motivated to work as hard as they can just because their career enthuses them. For instance, the chances of quitting one’s job and facing burnout were more compared to the members who were trained in their areas of interest. In conclusion, it is argued that students should only have permission to study STEM programs mostly because of their payments. However, I consider this idea wrong as pupils should be able to land their dream job which will be possible only if they follow what pleases them the most.