In some cities, there are few controls on the design and construction of homes and other buildings, and owners can decide on the styles of their houses.

Some areas allow citizens to build new houses and office buildings in any way they like under few restrictions. From my perspective, I believe this phenomenon may result in some public issues in the construction and design of cities. First of all, there is no doubt the policy endows residents with chances of freestyle in design. To be more specific, people have opportunities to practise their ideas of housing rather than as same as their neighbours because of the regulations. For example, layouts of new homes could be at any height and stand as much of the land as they desire. The loose regulations may liberate the minds of citizens to plan the place whatever they prefer. On the other hand, although the few controls free the design limitation of crowds, there are several obvious drawbacks that may hurt society and citizens themselves. Firstly, the construction may have potential safety concerns without strict controls, especially buildings having multiple floors. For instance, to save the budget, owners might prefer thin building bases rather than thick and solid foundations, which may put buildings at potential risk. Moreover, without the direction of regulations, buildings may also have minor problems, like accelerated ageing. Secondly, it is difficult to properly plan the city without supervision. For example, the diversity of heights of buildings may stop short houses from enjoying the sunshine. What's more, weak controls might mess up the blueprint of living and industrial areas, which brings unnecessary pollution and traffic congestion that annoy residents. Overall, despite the low-bar regulations helping people exert their ideas of construction, it might undermine society and crowds from aspects of safety concerns and inconvenience.