Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people's health and capacity for work?

The colors have psychological effects and are used for most of the things we use in daily life. This is because the color is very simple visual information that even small children can understand. Basically, the color influences people’s feeling and health which is related to emotions. The colors can be classified in clam colors and intense colors. The calm colors such as white and green can make people relax. On the other hand, intense colors such as black and yellow give people feeling anxious. This specific color’s impression is used in design. For example, Hospital walls and equipment are composed of calm colors: reducing stress of patients and to prevent patients who are mentally unstable. Especially, in mental clinic and children's hospitals, the colors which are used have been chosen with almost care for patients. In addition, the colors have influenced workers’ performances in the office. As opposed to the color which stimulates the human’s view, there are some colors and color combinations which do not distract workers. Those kinds of things about colors which are used in offices are also effective on students’ concentration in the classroom. In my experience, there is wooden furniture with calm colors and white walls. The colors are very helpful to students to concentrate studying, because those color combinations which are contained by walls and furniture do not distract us. In summary, the psychological color effect is known as a useful and effective method in design. Also, they are used frequently in real life.