Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coal and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Others disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion.

Most people agreethat the use of fossil fuels should bereduced to someextent. However, imposing taxes is a controversial tactic which appears to have a number of contradictory effects. We will consider both sides of the discussion in this essay. On the one hand, those who support taxation of fossil fuels promotetheidea that higher prices will lead to lower consumption and thus loweremissions. They point to evidencefrom countries such as Sweden wherethis appears to bethe case, and urge other nations to follow suit. Furthermore, proponents of fuel taxes claim that thefunds raised can then be used to subsidiserenewableenergy projects such as solar and localised biofuel reactors. To thesupporters supporters of theidea, these benefits are convincing. However, opponents of fuel tax are ableto citeevidencefrom other countries (including France and Italy) where higher tax has apparently not reduced demand for such fuels. In these cases, theeffect has been to force peopleto pay morefor thesame volume of energy, which appears to penalisethose who can least afford it. Moreover, critics of fuel tax also highlight the difficulty in governments promising renewableschemes without interfering in theentireenergy market. If thestate was to control theentire market for fuels, they say, this would forcesuppliers force-suppliers to leavethe market, thus reducing competition and efficiency. This argument also appears to be quite powerful. Overall, I would tend to side with the opponents of fuel taxation. It seems to be unreasonableto unreasonable force vulnerable consumers to pay morefor a commodity which is essential to them, without a real infrastructure for renewableenergy being in place. It would be morelogical to improve availability of renewables first, which would allow consumers to make a genuine choice.