Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

In recent times, there has been an upscale in the standard of beauty as compared to, the past. Thus, causing both men and women to be reckless while trying to conform to these new changes. In this essay, I will discuss the cause and effect. In the past, beauty was all about proper grooming,wearing a charming smile or a clean shave and appropriate behaviour. There was no pressure on acquiring lots of beauty products for the skin, all anyone needed then was just body oil and lip balm. People were content with their skincare routine and did not go beyond their means to look beautiful. To note, it was believed then that beauty equated to simplicity. More so, the lack of social media hindered the awareness of beauty hacks and products. It was also believed that women’s interest in skincare weighed more. Rather than chasing beauty, men had other interests such as gaming and means to financial stability. However, times have changed. There has been awareness of beauty care and products. More companies have been set up to cater to the beauty needs of individuals. The arrival of social media promoted new ideas of beauty. As a result, both men and women have been moved to follow the new beauty trends. This has led to mass production and sale of cosmetic products, which has resulted in good sales for these production companies. In order to meet up with these beauty trends, most individuals live beyond their means and end up in debt. Statistics have shown that people are no longer comfortable with their skin type, colour and even body which has resulted in the rise of low self-esteem amongst the age group of 20-30 years. In conclusion, everyone should buy products within their means because beauty companies will keep manufacturing more products which will attract individuals regardless of financial class.