People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

There has been an increasing number of people dwelling in metropolises. Besides the conventions that urban life offers, city dwellers have to deal with several issues such as contamination and shortage of jobs. Therefore, some people think governments should support people to relocate to smaller areas, but I believe this is impossible, instead there are other better solutions. There are two serious issues that urban residents are facing, namely: pollution - health problems and high unemployment rate. Firstly, population explosion in metropolises lead to many environmental problems, especially air contamination. Due to the high demand for traffics and industrial activities in big cities, a large amount of emissions from those activities is released into the atmosphere, reducing quality of the air. Consequently, people living in large cities easily have respiratory diseases and other health problems. In addition, the problem of lack of jobs in big cities is also a concern for governments and individuals, due to the high competition in the labor market. The high rate of unemployment not only puts financial pressure on people, but also it leads to social evils such as: robbery and smuggling. However, encouraging people to move to another city is unrealistic. First of all, life in a bustling city is the dream of most people. This is because the standard of living and opportunities for development in big cities are always better than other ones. Therefore, it is difficult to prevent people from choosing to live in metropolises. Besides, instead of reducing urban population, the government should have policies to overcome those issues. For example, the government can encourage people to use public transportation, which lowers a large amount of dust in the air and contributes to reducing traffic congestion. In conclusion, the increasing urban population leads to many environmental and life problems. However, instead of encouraging people to live in other places, the government should have solutions to overcome the disadvantages for people.