43.Employers nowadays put more emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Employers nowadays tend to select qualified candidates based on their interpersonal skills, whereas it is of the opinion that both social skills and good qualifications are important for job success. Personally, I am inclined to agree with the latter opinion. In the following essay, I will explain my justification in detail. Firstly, formal training and academic credentials play a role in one's career. University education can equip graduates with a fundamental of their fields of interest without which they may lack a sound basis to start a profession and build their careers. For example, surgeons would not be able to carry out an operation on the human body unless they have acquired surgical qualifications which require them years of training in surgery. In addition, given the importance of formal training, holders of formal qualifications can have better prospects of employment. In other words, those people who have excellent academic performance may have the upper hand in competing for a good job. This is because their qualifications are often taken as initial indicators of their knowledge and competency in their fields of specialization. Secondly, I believe that individuals also need to sharpen their social skills if they wish to achieve effectiveness and efficiency in working with others. In any organization, people do not work alone, but they have to liaise with one another in a view to achieve shared organizational goals. Indeed, it has been scientifically proven that those who have strong social skills may have more developed communicative skills and a higher level of empathy and emotional intelligence than those without, facilitating them to have better communication and understanding in a team. These skills contribute to not only an individual's job performance but also a positive work culture and productive teamwork. In conclusion, I firmly assert that both interpersonal skills and formal qualifications are an integral part of a person's successful career. While academic credentials provide knowledge, social skills facilitate effective teamwork and these two factors are essential for people who want to climb the career ladder.