44.In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

It has been increasingly common for people in several countries to spend the majority of their days at the workplace. In this essay, I will explore some potential reasons behind this trend and explain why it is a negative approach. To begin with, people nowadays are extending their working hours and working harder and this approach can be attributed to the need to provide for their families in the context of ever-increasing living costs. In the era of rising cost of living and inflation, many individuals feel compelled to work longer hours to maintain their desired living standards. The need to cover essential expenses, including housing, education, healthcare and other daily fundamentals drives people to seek additional income through extended working hours. In addition, in certain industries and professions, the competitive nature of the job market compels workers to put in more working hours to stand out or advance in their careers. Fear of job insecurities can also contribute to the popularity of this trend. It is undoubted that working too hard can bring numerous drawbacks. One of the most significant threats is that it can damage employee's health. To be more specific, people who spend too much time working may not have enough time to take care of themselves properly and recover. For example, they cannot find the time to participate in leisure activities and maintain a balanced diet which fuels their bodies or get enough sleep. It has been scientifically proven that working overtime for a long period of time can cause chronic stress, burnout and depression. Another key impact of this trend is a lack of quality family time. In fact, children are always the ones who bear the brunt of inadequate quality time. When teenagers lack parental care and emotional support, the bond they share with their families will weaken over time. Furthermore, youngsters subjected to neglect may develop psychiatric disorders such as depression and anxiety. In conclusion, the prevalence of spending long hours at work can be attributed to economic pressure and job competitiveness. This has consequently resulted in pressing problems faced by working individuals, including the unalleviated health degradation of employees and potential suffering endured by children in those families