Young people today know more about international pop and film stars than they do about famous people in their own country's history. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people's interest in famous people from their country's history?

Understanding history has long been considered a fundamental knowledge that many countries or schools desire for their students and citizens to possess. Interestingly, young people today are more interested in pop stars and idols than historical figures. This article will discuss the causes of this issue and offer some possible solutions. Firstly, there are numerous factors contributing to the current state of affairs. Firstly, it is evident that the prevalence of the entertainment industry is the primary cause of this issue. In other words, when all media is paying attention to movies, celebrities' clothes, and speeches, it accidentally attracts the attention of young people. The lifestyle of celebrities may be appealing to young individuals. On the other hand, there is no doubt that the examination-oriented education system is also a considerable factor contributing to this situation. More specifically, students in today's schools are just trying to get the best grades and sometimes they are not really interested in doing any past studies. In fact, they crammed up to get a passing grade, and they were happy about it. The bottom line is that this is not a promising situation, and we need to collaborate in order to improve it. This leaves open the question of what actions we can take to tackle these problems. Firstly, it is undeniable that enhancing teaching methods plays a crucial role in resolving these issues. This means that schools can create engaging lessons by incorporating demonstrations, drama, and field trips into their curriculum to make history more interesting for students. It is worth noting that these actions will aid in the development of students ' historical understanding. Additionally, many people believe that government efforts could also play a significant role in limiting the situation. Specifically, some practical actions can be taken, such as combining historical elements with film and television stars at the peak of their careers to produce a blockbuster that includes historical heroes, historical events, and film and television stars. Obviously, it is important for everyone to remember that only a whole-of-society effort can bring about the most successful solutions. All in all, idolatry now dominates the minds of young people while history is being ignored. However, with the efforts of the entire society, this situation will improve in the near future.