Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the goverment, while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. .

While it is often though that public health is the responsibility of the government, people claim that they should be responsible for their own health. In my opinion, I believe that the state is the one that should take full responsibility for preserving the health of its society. On the one hand, according to some, public health is the responsibility of the governments because not the cost of medicine can be expensive. In other words, not everyone in a country can afford buying medicines for their health issues. This is mainly because of unemployment or high rate of inflation. For example, in Saudi Arabia, since the cost of living is very high, people do not need to worry about the medical expenses because they are covered by the Saudi government. Thus, people can have a healthy life. On the other hand, some may claim that people should be responsible for their own health. One reason is that some people are not educated enough about how to take care of themselves and their mental and physical health. This is because they do not read on a daily basis the latest studies that teach them how to prevent and treat diseases. Therefore, it is important for them to be exposed to basic knowledge on health by browsing on social networking sites, following doctors’ accounts, or even listening to certain podcasts that benefit them and give them sufficient awareness. To sum up, although people may vary in their opinions, I think that the government is responsible for the health of its citizens. If the government is interested in its health situation, there will be complete awareness among the people and thus diseases will decrease.