Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Researching other worlds has generated interests in Scientists. People say exploring space is not making use of government funds and such resources should serve purposes that are advantageous to the State. I completely agree with this. To begin with, studying about space is a self satisfying venture and very expensive. For instance, Sir William White the first human to visit space recounts the huge sums of money that went into purchasing devices to embark on the travel. He exhausted wealth generated over 10 family generations coupled with financial support from the government to make it possible. Besides stories of his experience at the place, there wasn't anything remarkable to make our lives on earth better. In view of this why spend so much money on researching space when it wouldn't impact our lives positively? Therefore, I agree such spending is just a waste of income. On the other hand, the government has very important projects like creating employment opportunities, investing in the educational sector and health projects. To illustrate this, it is well known that the foundation of every white- collar job is formal education. In addition, for people to work and learn effectively, they need to be fit and these can be achieved from the health sectors. Also, workers in a country in turn pay taxes to the government that are used by the authorities to run the nation. It is clear from the aforementioned reasons that, there are more important projects that improve the development of the economy and positively affects the lives of people. Hence, I agree law-makers channel funds to such significant projects which are more beneficial than spend on space research. In conclusion, there are more pressing areas in the lives of citizens that requires national funding. The government should not pay for studies into other planets which in the long term will be of no use.