Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In recent times, society tends to choose self-employed because it is considered to bring more advantages. While there are various reasons, working oneself has its own benefits and downsides. To commence with, the advancement of technology, and employment has opened new opportunities for workers to be more creative. The trend also coherent with the demand from our societies. In the past, the trend of our labour leaned toward an office-based scheme. To illustrate this, in the 80’s laborers were highly needed to work in factories. This because due to the new establishment of technology, industries are mainly remain operated in a manual way. As the progression of technology day by day started to increase, hence, it affected the trend of workers as well. Working with other people in certain organizations has been replaced with self-employed. Working oneself is considered more efficient and effective compared to being employed by other people. For instance, by working individually we can be our own boss, creating our own schedule and work scheme. Being individually employed has enabled us to work anywhere and every time we want, as we need no permission from our boss and we are not bound to a company’s regulation. However, individually working has its own drawbacks. Due to working on our own, self-employed is prone to stress. Aside from that, we may lose our motivation and it may affect our work results, for example, delay in deliver our work or lack of qualities. To conclude, communities starting to move to a recently developed working system, which is working one-self. Working oneself brings more freedom for its workers. Unfortunately, it is alsoimportant to underline that self-employed has its own minus, which can be seen from the lack of management systems, ups and downs in motivation, and sensitivity to burnout. Hence, to decide whether we want to work in companies or freelance, we have to understand our motivation and career paths.