WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Military training is a must for young men in various nations. There are considerations of generalising this trend worldwide to include females as well. I completely disagree that the government forces such practice down the throats of growing males and females. To begin with, military training is a good means to instil discipline in people. For instance, my brother had a complete change of character after he enrolled in a military academy. To add to this, in Ghana it is common practice for waywardness to be corrected by subjecting perpetrators to military discipline. Such people often turn a new leaf. Hence, it is clear that military enforcement in the lives of the youth breeds well-behaved individuals. Moreover, every nation truly wants responsible adults with good mannerisms for development. Despite these, I am of the view that people should not be forced to live a particular way and do not agree with the government getting involved in people's personal lives. On the other hand, we live in a free world. People should be allowed to freely choose what works for them. Besides, every human being belongs to a family where grooming is done. Family forms the foundation of every society. It is the responsibility of parents to guide their children to navigate through life. Furthermore, there are national laws that govern the human rights of all citizens. Therefore, national authorities forcing societal folks to partake in military services is obviously an infringement on their rights. Hence, I believe parents and their wards should be allowed to decide on paths their children could use for personal growth and development. I do not agree in any way that young citizens should be made to join military services. In conclusion, obliging the youth to undergo military service is ongoing in numerous countries. Although military training is known to generate discipline in people, we live in a free society. Therefore, I do not agree young people are made to take part in military activities.