Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The topic of the debate between students who prefer a qualification-centric education in their time study at university and those who want to study other subjects alongside the main field of study is considerable. In my view, I totally agree with the first perspective, which I will explain in this essay. On the one hand, focusing intensively on a specific area of study to gain qualification will prevent distraction for young people. At the same time, university scholars will not have to deal with numerous assignments, or deadlines which cause stress and fatigue for them. This may lead to a decline in their GPA and the feeling of not being fair. Imagine those students taking significant time to choose a higher education path and then end up continuing to study things that they avoid. For instance, some colleges in Vietnam require a certification in swimming for their undergraduate students. While this might seem easy to achieve for almost all students, to someone who has an aquaphobia or gets anxious when touching the water is the worst scenario, not only affecting their mental well-being but also hindering their study progress because they could fail this physical exam repeatedly. On the other hand, studying additional subjects provides opportunities for students to explore subjects beyond their core requirements. That will be a chance to find out areas that university scholars are interested in or not keen on at all. The more additional subjects they might take, the broader knowledge they can obtain about these aspects of the department. Personally, I definitely want to dedicate more time to specialization because it is more effective to concentrate on one thing rather than a lot of things at the same time. There is still time for them to explore themselves not just by taking more subjects at their university. In conclusion, the choice between exploring additional subjects or allocating all time to qualifications depends on an individual’s goals and aspirations. It is crucial that they should prioritize obtaining their qualifications in the first place, subsequently exploring whatever they want.