Many countries have compulsary military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many young men are obliged to serve in military after their high-school in several countries such as North Korea and Israel. The idea of compulsory military service is often recommended for all countries by including both men and women, primarily to instill a strong sense of nationality in them. I find this proposition ludicrous, irrespective of the gender, and my disapproving stance is grounded in the principles of independent choice and the concern for loss of innovative productivity, which are discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. Firstly, a mandatory enlistment in army throttles one's autonomy of choice, and can lead to frustration, as the individual can feel coerced into doing something he/she is utterly uninterested in. A study by behavioral psychologists from Columbia University, which showed positive correlation between teenage coercion and chronic dissatisfaction, serves as compelling evidence to how a compulsory military service might lead to a nation full of residents with pernicious trauma. Secondly, the obligatory service significantly risks wasting intelligence of an entire class of graduating students. As high school graduates are full of ideas, and vigorously excited to pursue them, only universities, and not the military camps, will serve as sanctuaries to nourish them. Imagine how big of a loss it would have been if Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg, who developed Windows and Facebook respectively at university, had been forced to join military after high school potentially leading them to lose interest in their planned pursuit. In conclusion, owing to the possibility of unfulfilled sentiment among citizens due to early coercion, coupled with a probable loss of productive innovation it causes, compulsory military service after school can be extremely detrimental to a country. Therefore, I am critically vocal against the recommendation of enforcing such system in every country.