Many young people today know more about international pop and movie stars than about famous people in the history in their country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

Nowadays, a rising number of youngsters become fans of international superstars, and they know little about their own country’s historical figures. There are many reasons resulting in this phenomenon, and effective approaches need to be adopted. One of the primary reasons is the huge influence of international show business. European and American entertainment companies have more advanced film shooting and composing techniques, which usually produce high quality pieces and receive high praise, such as Hollywood. Also, these firms got comparative dominant right in the global media because of the economy and politics. Therefore, not only can they create masterpiece, but they are also able to launch it to the whole world. This phenomenon also attributes to the globalization and development of media. Firstly, the channel for people to get access to international information is becoming wider today. For the young generation who usually surf the internet for something trendy, they are easily be attracted to those unfamiliar and novel foreign cultures. Secondly, media campaigns are increasingly colorful. Most brands are eager to invite international ambassador, and try to advertise as more as possible, such as physical posters, off-line activities, and live broadcast. Thus, this gradually becomes unavoidable for people ’s daily life. Another cause is the great differences of times. For one, because of the generation gap, the modern youths cannot strike a chord with the famous people in their country’s history. In comparison, popular stars can arouse their interests more. For another, heavy work or academics pressure leads to people ’s fast-paced life. They prefer activities that require no effort and brainstorming to relieve stress, such as listening pop music and watching videos. Hence, very few young people are willing to dig into historical records to learn about great figures. There are wide range of measures to address this worrying issue. First of all, government and schools are supposed to add more story about their own country’s famous people in textbooks and classes. Additionally, government should encourage domestic recreation companies to turn celebrities’ biographies into films, documentaries, or short videos to appeal to youngsters. Furthermore, government can promote related knowledge through innovative methods, such as cultural and creative product.