some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy too difficult to learn. so some people argue that those subjects should be optional rathan than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

People hold different views in terms of academic learning. Individuals think that few children have difficulty studying subjects such as mathematics and philosophy and therefore some opine that those subject can be made optional instead of compulsory. I find it difficult to agree or disagree with the phenomenon however I believe that mathematics subject should be compulsory and philosophy subject can be made optional so students will have liberty to select depending upon their own interests. A number of arguments surround my opinion. There are many advantages of mathematics learning. To begin with, it helps to develop skills such as quick calculations and visualisations. To elaborate, mathematics played crucial role in person’s daily life. A person who is good in maths can decide monthly budget and limit expense to meet up with his budget. This is how society will have well-organised citizens. Moreover, children who are excel in calculation skills tend to make problem-solving decisions. Calculation skills require formulation of proofs, concepts and logic and these all are considered as key elements of making effective decisions. Practice of such skills will build confidence and self-awareness in children to tackle with any pressurised situations. Focusing on philosophy subject, children ought to be asked about their own interests and preferences regarding their academic subjects. As there are many other subjects such as science and technology, Maths, Social science, Business management and commerce related subjects, they hold more value for to be taught than teaching philosophy. children are looked after by their parents and moral values are already nurtured in them and therefore they might find studying philosophy as a repetitive course of learning. However, some of them might have a preference to opt philosophy for their further studies and that can lead them to be philosopher some day. To conclude, it is clear to understand why maths must be compulsory to be added in academic curriculum while philosophy can be made optional depending upon children ’s interest.