Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is widely argued regarding public health whether the government is held responsible or that people should take care of their own health. In my view, the government plays a vital role in managing the overall health quality in a country, but individuals also need to manage themselves. It is necessary for the government to provide health care for its residents due to the fact that the government has received taxes from taxpayers which include residents of the country; however, the cost of the given health care might be determined based on the income of each individual. Moreover, the government has the ability to encourage a regulation which residents must obey. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic several years ago, the government released a regulation which forced all individuals within the country to use masks and to be clean, and, as a result, the public health quality increased. Additionally, an increase in health quality will eventually lead to the residents becoming more productive which, in turn, will push the economy to grow. Even though the government might have provided all the basic needs for good health care, everything comes down to the individual. Residents need to take advantage of all benefits which have been provided by the government. They should not only be able to take care of themselves, but also be able to maintain a healthy lifestyle, for example by having a healthy diet and practicing sports, so that they could avoid any illnesses in the future. In conclusion, the importance of the government in terms of maintaining the country's health quality is undoubtedly tremendous, but it is not solely on the government's hands because individuals also contribute a lot in keeping the health quality in check.