Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that action by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large businesses which can make a difference. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Climate change with adverse impacts is not only encountered by countries but also faced by people. It is the contemporary debate topic whether change globally should be action by individual citizens or resolved by governments or big companies. This essay reveals why both stakeholders including all inhabitants and government bodies involved in resolving this curious global issue. To begin with, residents can take small steps to mitigate the issue of the changes. The bring your own bags (BYOB) scheme is advocated. As it is known that plastic bags are non-biodegradable, consumers can avoid using new plastic bags and take their own bags to pick up the purchased goods from the supermarket. In addition, people are encouraged to take massive public transport instead of private cars which is allowed few passengers. It is known that traditional mobiles emit exhaust gases which pollute the air. For example, people can select trains which can take at least a few hundred passengers on each journey and the number of private mobiles used is lessened. Therefore, the emitting of wasted gases can be minimised to harm the environment. Meanwhile, government bodies and large companies can contribute more than individuals to prevent temperature changes. Biodegradable tools are encouraged to be used for take-away meals. For example, restaurant owners can place wooden spoons and forks for their customers who buy take-away meals. Another measure is mall owners can provide more locations to place the recycle bins instead of trash. It can enhance the recycling rate to reduce the use rate of incinerators. These changes from big companies can change their customers’ behaviours. To sum up, local people can offer some small steps with their own efforts and large firms can provide larger contributions. It can bring us a better environment to live in from generation to generation.