Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

During the COVID-19 pandemic, everyone was introduced to online work. Now many people find that working from home is a greater option than commuting to the office all the time. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this opinion in detail and provide the reasons why I think the former does not outweigh the latter. To begin with, one primary advantage of doing remote jobs is that it saves transportation fees. For example, an average monthly travel card costs about $120 and the annual cards are costlier. This means that going to work with public transport requires the worker to spend at least $1200 per year. In addition to saving expenses, another advantage of virtual work is that it saves time. No calculations are required to explain this; provided that, the employees simply wake up from their bed and walk across to their table to begin their task. However there are some major drawbacks too. First, the lack of social interactions in independent working environments leads to a decrease in their communication skills. For instance, studies have found that freelancers score poorly on their speaking and presentation skills while employees from other sectors score high. Second, they struggle more with their mental health than others. This is again due to the fact that they are mostly spending a lot of time staring at a screen and not receiving any physical validation. Also, a third drawback is that they are often stuck to figure out solutions for themselves as their superiors are not always present to offer them instant help. To conclude, there are numerous merits and demerits of remote jobs as a result of the aforementioned discussion. Although working from home can save time and money, it brings more negatives such as a decrease in mental health, communication and others. If this becomes the new reality, then the world is in trouble.