Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

With growing awareness of food nutrition, consuming a large portion of sugar is harmful to our health. Whether or not increasing the price of sugary products could discourage people from consuming them has become a widely debated topic. While many believe that it is not an effective method to stop them from taking sugar, others maintain that they should do it. Given that price is not the main concern and there is freedom of trade, I strongly disagree that it should not be a good way to prevent people from eating sugary products by just raising the price.   For a start, how much the product costs can be one of the factors that influence your choice to buy it or not, but this is not the only factor. According to a study at the University of Hong Kong, people ‘s desires can outweigh any reasonable decision. One striking example is that the government increases the price of cigarettes up to one hundred Hong Kong dollars per pack, but it still can’t reduce the number of smokers. It is obvious that making sugary products expensive can’t reduce people's consumption.   Equally worth mentioning is that freedom of trade is extremely important to economic development. The manufacturers should not reduce sugar in the product, since it would affect sales. Thus, the government needs to enforce them or pass legislation to execute this policy. The producer will lose confidence in further investment in this area because of the tough policy. Conceivably, we should strike a balance between public health and economic development.   By and large, it may seem that raising the price of sweet products could not cut down consumption if people are already addicted to it. It would only harm the reputation of the country.