Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted. Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

A lot of metropolitan areas in different countries are experiencing decline in quality of life due to the huge increase in their populations. This may be because the government has been linient with the requirements for foreign immigrants and the lack of job opportunities in the rural areas. I believe improving the facilities and transportations would help accomodate these numbers. Firstly, one of the reasons why many people from less-affluent nations have the capability to live in first world cities is because of the simple requirements that they need to fulfill. This is seen in Melbourne, thousands of foreigners reside in the city even though they do not have to show the government a proof of their living capability. As a result, more and more would want to experience to live in a developed place and follow suit. Those who live in the rural areas on the other hand, find greater opportunities in the urban to pursue their dreams. Due to this, they end up leasing despite having their own house in their hometowns. If the government were to tackle these problems, improving the transit system must be prioritise to keep up with the growing population. This is because if these people will all use a private vehicle to move around, this will create traffic jams in many parts of the city. In addition, air pollution will be reduced through these changes. Meanwhile, a solution to house rentees is by regulating high-rise buildings, instead of occupying massive space on land. In conclusion, due to population growth in the cities, the demand for greater housing facilities and improved transport system is also increasing. It appears to me that if the government properly applies these remedies, it will lessen the severity of these issues.