There is a big influence of peer group on children's behaviour. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Children are always learning from others. So, it is generally understood that a peer group plays a significant role in a child's attitude. However, not everyone agrees positively. This essay will discuss the benefits and shortcomings of this statement and explain why the former outweighs the latter. Firstly, the primary advantage is that the young can learn more. If they are interacting with a number of individuals, then they are exposed to a variety of knowledge and information. In addition to gaining knowledge, another advantage is that they can be aware of diverse cultures and learn to respect all communities. Take a multicultural peer group for example, they can educate the young about various norms and ethnicities. This way the child can grow to be a good human being. Also, this leads to the third advantage that their communication skills develop by socialising with various people. On the contrary, there are numerous drawbacks as well. First, the main disadvantage is that children could be negatively influenced by learning wrong things. Provided that a large group is harder to control, it is difficult to supervise every child and their development. Second, the fact that the little ones can become more dependent on others as a result of spending time with peers is another disadvantage. To illustrate, studies have shown that children who are always working with others later struggle with independent work. Consequently, they would perform poorly in their future employment. To conclude, although there are plenty of drawbacks to children's development from peer groups due to the aforementioned discussion, I think there are more merits than demerits. Regardless, children improve their communication and learn a variety of knowledge from such groups.